Prasad Scheme | PIB Summary

Identification of new sites for development under Prasad Scheme is a continuous process subject to availability of resources and adherence to scheme guidelines.


PRASAD Scheme was launched in 2014-15 with 12 identified sites namely

  1. Ajmer (Rajasthan),
  2. Amritsar (Punjab), 
  3. Amaravati (Andhra Pradesh),
  4. Dwarka (Gujarat),
  5. Gaya (Bihar),
  6. Kedarnath (Uttarakhand),
  7. Kamakhya (Assam),
  8. Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu),
  9. Mathura (Uttar Pradesh), 
  10. Puri (Odisha),
  11. Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh) and
  12. Vellankani (Tamil Nadu).
  • PRASAD schemes aims to create spiritual centres for tourism development within the nation.
  • To implement the PRASAD scheme a Mission Directorate has been set up in the Ministry of Tourism.
  • The Budget provision of Rs.15.60 crore was made in Revised Estimate (RE) 2014-15. 

 New sites added

During 2015-16, Patna (Bihar) and in 2016-17, 12 more sites were added in the scheme for development namely

  1. Ayodhya (Uttar Pradesh), 
  2. Badrinath (Uttarakhand),
  3. Belur (West Bengal),
  4. Deoghar (Jharkhand),
  5. Guruvayur (Kerala),
  6. Hazratbal  and Katra (Jammu & Kashmir),
  7. Omkareshwar (Madhya Pradesh),
  8. Somnath (Gujarat),
  9. Srisailam and Tirupati (Andhra Pradesh),
  10. Trimbakeshwar (Maharashtra).

For more information keep visiting Raj Malhotra’s IAS Academy Study Group

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *